top of page
Search
  • delbarianabria

Landscape ideas for your problem areas


With my front, side and backyard needing totally redone after the flooding to the property I have been taking stock of what works in the yard, what needs to be removed and how to set up the yard to be flood proof or at least to drain water as quickly as possible.


I have also been looking at shrubs and trees to get a good deal but also pick plants that will work in certain areas. My main concerns in selecting shrubs were the height they would grow and their hardiness.


In the front of the yard I will have a raised planted area that will protect the yard from run off rain. Right now it’s a pile of rocks and looks pretty homely.


I decided this area needed native plants that will handle drought and rough winds. I am also selecting plants that will need less care so I don’t need to work with the plantings as much. This area will also have a heavy covering of mulch to keep weeds down and retain moisture in the soil.


So my selections for this area are daisies, Black-eyed Susans, lilies, perennial herbs and several other low plants and ground covers. For shrubs I will have groupings of juniper, one flowering shrub and a several lower growing shrubs. No shrub will grow to over seven foot.


The area will take about two weeks to set up.


To get started I need to pull out the flat rock and set it aside for the flat rock patio I am creating. I need to enrich the soil and check the nutrients to make sure the shrubs I have selected will grow well. I will check online and at my local nursery for this information.


I was lucky yesterday and found some shrubs on sale for an extremely low price of $2. I asked why and they told me they just don’t want to over-winter the shrubs. I came home and checked the shrub varieties online to see if any would work in the yard.


The shrubs are 3 to 4 foot high and in pretty good shape. I chose four different varieties. And today they were $1. Actually about 75 cents – the owner told me to put a few more in the car.


I am most pleased with the “Gold Cone” Juniper. It will give height to the shrub groupings I have selected and add color all season long. By selecting shrubs with flowers or variegated leaves and a variety of perennials that flower for three season I will have an attractive garden area all year long and one that will handle sun, wind and act as a flood barrier. I’ve been considering the use of shrubs as a low fence. Visit this website if you need a fence.


I can also buy perennials at a nearby business for $2 a shovel scoop. I can break each scoop down into 4 or 5 plant groups. This will stretch my landscaping costs down


I plan to start the area this week and if weather permits (that means a few sunny days – a rare event this summer) the area should be done in two weeks. It will have that new somewhat bare look but next summer it should look great.


I will show photos of the finished project in a few weeks.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page